Saturday, February 19, 2011

Southern Luzon State University Seal
The Southern Luzon Polytechnic College started as Lucban Municipal Junior High School by virtue of Municipal Resolution No. 5 passed on April 15, 1964 and permit to operate granted by Assistant Secretary of Education, Hon. Miguel B. Gaffud on July 24, 1964. It officially started its classes on August 3, 1964. On May 24, 1965, a Municipal Resolution No. 86 was passed requesting the changes of name to Lucban Municipal High School. This resolution was approved on August 24, 1965 by the Director of Public Schools, Dr. Vitaliano Bernardino. On june 14, 1968, Lucban Community College was created and was made part of Lucban Municipal High School as an adjunct institution for College Education. In 1969, the Lucban School for Philippine Craftsmen (a vocational school) was created by virtue of Republic Act 3530 but it formally started on July 1, 1970. On July 11, 1972, Republic Act 4345, also known as the merger law took into effect merging the Lucban Municipal High School and Lucban School of Philippine Craftsmen into Lucban National High school (with continuous operation of Lucban Community College).

The brighter future of the College started in 1981 when 20 Assemblymen from southern Tagalog Region sponsored the parliamentary Bill No. 173 for the conversion of Lucban National College into Southern Luzon Polytechnic College (SLPC). The bill was approved on December 14, 1981 and signed into law known as Batas Pambansa No. 145 on February 8, 1982 by President Ferdinand E. Marcos.

The growth of SLPC was manifested in the existence of six satellite campuses strategically located in the Province of Quezon. The first was SLPC-Alabat, established on July 31, 1991 through BOT Res. No. ___. In 1992, SLPC-Polillo was created by virtue of BOT Res. No. 19, S.1992. Two campuses were established in 1993, viz., SLP-Sampaloc in Brgy. Caldong, Sampaloc, Quezon and SLPC-Infanta by virtue of BOT Res. 33 and BOT Res. No ___, S.1993 respectively. In 1996, established was SLP-Lucena Dual Training and Livelihood Center under BOT Res. No. 130, S. 1996. The newest campus added was Judge Guillermo Eleazar Polytechnic College which was integrated on February 8, 2002 under BOT Res. No. 352, S. 2002.

On February 28, 2005 House Bill Number 03820, authored by Cong. Rafael P. Nantes and co-sponsored by Cong. Proceso Alcala and Cong. Erin Tanada, was filed at the Philippine Congress. Subsequently, R.A. 9395 was passed, and signed into law by Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo on March 17, 2007 "An Act converting the Southern Luzon Polytechnic College in the municipality of Lucban, Province of Quezon, its units and sattelite campuses in the municipalities of Sampaloc, Infanta, Polillo, Tagkawayan, Alabat and Tiaong, and the Lucena Dual-Tech Livelihood and Training Center in the City of Lucena, all in the Province of Quezon, into a state university to be known as the SOUTHERN LUZON STATE UNIVERSITY (SLSU)."