Friday, February 18, 2011

Mindanao State University was established on September 1, 1961 through RA 1387, as amended was the brain child of the late Senator Domocao A.  Alonto, as one of the government’s responses to the so-called “Mindanao Problem”.

The original mission  of the university was anchored on instruction, Research and Extension. The 1954 congressional committee conceptualized it as social laboratory for national integration. Its first four decades reflected a glorious past of exemplary achievements that brought it to institutional maturity.

For the campus in Marawi City starting with 282 students and  12 faculty members in its pioneering of classes in 1962, it has grown to a multi-campus supra-regional university system, serving over 53,000 students in all levels with nearly 3,100 faculty members.

The locales  of the University campuses are vibrant, welcoming make Mindanao State University a distinctive university and special place for any students. It is also the only university directly charged by the government to advance the cause of national unity and actively pursue integration through education.

Today, MSU has units in seven strategic areas which cut  across the Mindanao region. From a one campus university in Marawi City. MSU has grown to a multi-campus university of seven autonomous campuses ,which include: MSU-Main in Marawi City, MSU-IIT in Iligan City, MSU-TCTO in Tawi-Tawi, MSU-Naawan in Misamis Oriental, MSU-Maguindanao, MSU-General Santos and MSU-Sulu on Jolo.

In addition, three (3) former CHED- Supervised institutions of higher learning are integrated into the university, namely: Lanao National College of Arts and Trade (LNCAT), Lanao Norte Agricultural College (LNAC) and Maigo School of arts and Trade (MSAT).